Torches (2011): Foster the People


Recently I did a review on Foster the People’s live set. Well, now comes the time to review their album “Torches” and I’ll freely admit that it is long overdue. Released about a year ago, Torches was possibly one of my favourite albums of 2011, and seeing them live only reminded me of what it’s like to hear their very dance friendly tunes.

So, Pumped up Kicks isn’t the first track on the album, but immediately it is worth talking about. This was perhaps one of the best feel good tracks last year. However, as I’m sure many will tell you, the lyrics are actually a really dark story about a homicidal teenager plotting revenge over a pair of trainers. Why the band chose to present such a theme like this I do not know, but I will say this; it certainly does get you thinking and in my opinion reintroduces art into the picture which is getting quite slack nowadays.

Not so much in the same boat, Houdini is even more feel good and ridiculously catchy; it was instantly recognised when FTP opened with it live. But, looking at the lyrics, it seems not quite as meaningless as some may think. I’m not sure on the meaning of this song, but the lyrics seem quite clear, and the message is very well presented; Houdini is a metaphor for an escape. Read the lyrics for yourself.

Besides those two, the album has a very good mix of tracks like this and even more upbeat tracks, with even their slow track, Chin Music for the Unsuspecting Hero managing to be quite immersive without being overly downbeat and depressing, a bit like a track you wave your lighter to. That said, slow music is certainly not a theme with this album, although they can do it, as they show with Ruby, a track with did not make the album. This is a track I loved and I’m gutted that the first time I heard it was a couple of weeks ago. I love it and many other people love it.

All in all, a solid 90% from me, and that’s me being harsh.

Go grab over at iTunes