Album Review: Trouble (Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs)


Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs – what a name, eh? This is the name that UK electronic artist Orlando Higgingbottom, Oxford born and bred, goes by when producing the interesting sounds most notably recognised on adverts for the Nokia Lumia smartphone family.

I’ve been listening to the album ‘trouble’ on and off for a couple of months now and although I don’t look at this album as exceptional, I find that the sound produced is unique in ways, like a mash-up of UK garage or funky house and a kind of indie-electronica, Passion-Pit-esque sound. Okay, maybe not so much of the latter.

It’s nice to listen to some of the tracks on the album. I’ve found myself listening to a lot of TEED when I’m walking about, going about my business because the upbeat, dance themed beats that lie in most tracks are uplifting and tie in well with the ambient melodies that start most tracks. There a couple of tunes I love though, that I specifically choose to listen to. Tracks that need good acoustics, be it a good set of speakers or some headphones, and a will to party, whether in solitude or in public.

All in all, TEED have a sound that demands all become acquainted with, one way or another but for a lot of it there is a lack of that quality that separates the tracks on this album from the realm of well produced empty sounds. There is definitely very little to fault here but unfortunately this record fails to wow me. That being said, I won’t be deleting it any time soon.

70%

Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs – Trouble on Spotify